About us

This division of quantum physics and quantum information was founded by Prof. Jian-Wei Pan in 2001. We work in the field of quantum optics and quantum information. Main directions include quantum foundation, fiber-based quantum communication, free-space quantum communication, quantum memory and quantum repeater, optical quantum computing, superconducting quantum computing, quantum simulation with ultra-cold atoms, quantum metrology and related theories. Within the principal investigators, 1 has been selected by the "Thousand Talent Program", 5 has got the "China National Natural Science Fund for Exceptional Young Scholars", 6 has been selected by the "Young Thousand Talent Program", 8 has been selected by the "Hundred Talents Program of Chinese Academy of Sciences", and 2 has been awarded as the "Chang Jiang Scholar". We have built many advanced experimental platforms to conduct cutting-edge research. We have also an electronic workshop and many other facilities to support our scientific missions.

We have made many important achievements in multiphoton manipulation, optical quantum computing, large-scale network of quantum cryptography, free-space quantum communication, quantum memory with cold atoms, quantum simulation with ultra-cold atoms and superconducting quantum computing etc. Our achievements have been selected for 10 times as "Top Ten Annual Scientific and Technological Progresses in China ", once as "Features of the Year" by Nature, once as "Breakthrough of the Year" by Science, 6 times as "Highlights of the Year" by Physics World, 5 times as "Top Physics Stories of the Year" by APS. Our achievements on multiphoton entanglement and interferometry have also been awarded the "First-Class National Natural Science Prize of China".

There are two strategic objectives for the next 15 years. One is to build a large-scale quantum communication network, apply it in national defense, government affairs, finance, and energy fields etc., realize a seamless link with classic communication network, and form a strategic emerging industry for the next-generation of national information secure ecosystem. The other is to effectively solve the efficiency problem of large-scale quantum system, realize coherent manipulation of 50-100 qubits, construct a scalable quantum network, comprehensively transcend the capacity of classical computers in tackling specific problems, achieve application of the quantum precision measurement technology, and finally find a practical way for general-purpose quantum computing.

关于我们

量子物理与量子信息研究部成立于2001年,研究部主任为潘建伟院士。研究领域为量子光学与量子信息,研究方向包括量子力学基本原理检验、光纤量子通信、自由空间量子通信、量子存储与量子中继、光学量子计算、超导量子计算、超冷原子量子模拟、量子精密测量以及相关理论研究等。研究骨干中,1人入选中组部首批“千人计划”,5人获国家杰出青年基金,6人入选“青年千人计划”,8人入选中科院“百人计划”,2人入选教育部“长江学者”。我们已经搭建了众多相关实验平台,建立和发展了一整套与量子信息实验研究相关的分析探测设备和手段,研究条件具有国际先进水平。

研究部在多光子纠缠操纵及光量子计算、大规模实用化量子通信网络、自由空间量子通信、冷原子存储、超冷原子量子模拟、超导量子计算等研究方向上取得了国际领先的成果。研究部成员的成果先后10次入选两院院士评选的“中国年度十大科技进展新闻”、1次入选英国《自然》杂志评选的“年度十大科技亮点”、1次入选美国《科学》杂志评选的“年度物理学重大进展”、6次入选英国物理学会评选的“年度物理学重大进展”、5次入选美国物理学会评选的“年度物理学重大事件”,项目“多光子纠缠及干涉度量”获2015年度国家自然科学一等奖,已经成为国际著名的量子物理与量子信息研究组。

研究部战略目标是:力争通过15年左右的努力,一方面构建完整的空地一体广域量子通信网络体系,在国防、政务、金融和能源等领域率先加以广泛应用,与经典通信网络实现无缝链接,形成具有国际引领地位的战略性新兴产业和下一代国家信息安全生态系统;另一方面将有效解决大尺度量子系统的效率问题,实现50-100个量子比特的相干操纵,构建可扩展的量子相干网络,对特定问题的求解全面超越经典计算机能力,实现可实用化的量子精密测量技术,同时为最终实现通用量子计算机摸索出一条切实可行的道路。

alt