English News

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005

Date: 2006-02-28

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three physicists working in the field of optics. Roy Glauber of Harvard University in the US receives one half of the prize "for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence", while the other half goes jointly to John Hall of JILA at the University of Colorado in the US and Theodor Hänsch of the LMU in Germany "for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique".